To celebrate ECALA’s 20th year of investing in program excellence in Edmonton, the Board of Director’s chose to recognize the legacy and contributions of Carol Aubee-Girard by creating the “Carol Aubee-Girard Award of Excellence in Community Adult Learning”.

Carol’s tenure as ECALA’s Executive Director from 1998 to 2015 contributed to excellence in programming under the mandate of the Community Adult Learning Program. Carol’s professionalism and passion to ensure organizations, programs and learners were positively impacted by the funding allocations each year resulted in many of the practices and guidelines ECALA continues to follow.

Carol’s strong belief in funding the very small to large organizations led to the development of many new innovative practices to better meet the needs of learners.  Carol also implemented the integration of the National Essential Skills Framework in 2008 and mandatory measurement and evaluation requirements in 2015.

Organizations or staff who delivered ECALA funded learning opportunities during the 2019-2020 fiscal year can be nominated.  Nomination letters must demonstrate that the organization or program:

  • Imbeds learner-centred best practice in their facilitation
  • Involves learners in learning opportunity design and delivery
  • Actively participates in organization and professional development forums in the CALP system
  • Includes innovative practices to support learning and
  • Creates awareness in the community of the benefits of increasing literacy levels for adults and families in Edmonton.

The award recipient will be required to consent to recognition at the AGM on September 23, 2020, and on social media. The award donation will be given to the recipient organization and must be used to improve the delivery of ECALA funded learning opportunities in 2020-21.

The Nomination letter must not exceed two pages in length.  Nominations close on September 4th.  Nomination letters can be emailed to with the subject heading Carol Aubee Girard Award of Excellence.

Louisa Bruinsma

2019 Carol Aubee-Girard Award of Excellence Winner 

Louisa Bruinsma is a former high school English teacher who has been teaching ESL classes for Dickinsfeld Amity House for over nine years. Her classes, run in partnership with two Edmonton Public Libraries, demonstrate the importance of building safe and welcoming spaces for foundational learners. Louisa’s learners flourish due to her diligence in creating inclusive learning opportunities that are fun, practical, and relevant to their lives. Louisa’s caring and generous nature is evident in the environment she encourages in her classrooms.

“While working with an everchanging group of students with different needs, Louisa teaches the students and volunteers in her program far more than English. We have learned about life-skills, leadership, interaction with others, tolerance, acceptance, friendship, other cultures, and inclusiveness. As a result of Louisa’s thoughtful lesson preparation and attention to all aspects of life in Canada, the students benefit with an understanding of their home here, and they become better citizens.”
– A volunteer with Louise’s program